top of page

When and Why to Hire a Photographer

I was recently honored to photograph and be invited to celebrate a proposal. As family toasted the newly engaged couple, they turned to me and asked what I would say. Some had given advice, some had congratulated, and in that moment the words I spoke were a reflection of something I've found to be important, "Take photos of everything!".

Photographers can seem like a luxury expense, and truthfully, we are in a way. Much of our work is behind scenes and so the cost can seem exhorbitant, as well. As a parent, the thought and pressure of organizing a date and time and a well put together wardrobe for a photo session can seem hardly worth the effort. However, as someone who has only just been able to afford professional photography, there are times I wish I had planned for that expense.

1. Engagement- I have one photograph to document that joyful time of being newly engaged. I don't even know where it is. I don't have the digital image and I never framed the print.

2. Wedding- I did actually have a photographer for my wedding, but it was a gift from my brother and I didn't talk to the photographer beforehand to discuss details, what I wanted, etc. I wish I'd taken more interest and seen more value in having a photographer there to document that special day. Regardless, she did a wonderful job and I'm happy with what she gave us.

3. Our First Wedding Anniversary- Yes. I wish I had hired a professional photographer to capture us as a couple at that first year of marriage mark. We're coming up to our 6th anniversary, and looking back, I definitely feel that quality photographs from that early in our marriage would be very special indeed.

4. The birth of our son- Birth photography wasn't even on my radar over 4 years ago, but I wish it had been. To have a quality photograph of that first moment when my husband saw him, and I held him, even photographs of the labor, would be priceless.

5. The birth of our daughter- see above. My children are 4 and 3 now, and that moment when I first met them has faded to a memory that doesn't do it justice. Again, birth photography is priceless.

6. Family photos- We finally got our first family photos taken last year. Three times. It was worth it EVERY SINGLE TIME. Two were full sessions, one was a mini-session, my daughter was NOT thrilled about the first two and my son had a total meltdown after one, but they were still worth it. People change so quickly, children especially, so 3 family sessions in one year was more than worth it. I wish we'd had them done every year since the beginning of our family.

7. Breastfeeding- I was unable to breastfeed my son, and so when we were able to make a go of it with my daughter that time was so special. I wish I had photographs to document the emotional bond that breastfeeding created for us.

8. Everyday moments- There are little things throughout the year that I cannot capture or I cannot capture well, and wish I could. The moment my son first got on the bus to go to school, putting my kids to bed, morning cuddles, baking together, dancing with my daughter, going Trick 'r Treating, etc. These are little things that, for me, having images to hold these memories close would be worth every penny spent.

I didn't think about the value of photographs before I began capturing moments of my children without me in the shot because I was behind the camera. The value became even more clear the first time we had family photos taken. Getting in the pictures isn't about being egotistical, but about visual memories that you will have, your children and grandchildren will have, it's your history and your family's history in an image and it's worthwhile.

kids-0860.jpg


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page