top of page

Story: A special adoption

Last year, in June, with the local babywearing group that I am involved in, I began a journey that I never expected, both personally and professionally. It began with the wonderful generosity of BWI of Tucson when members chipped in to buy a wonderful woman a special carrier for her grandson, whom she was in the process of adopting.

BWITBF-0056.jpg
BWITBF-0076.jpg
BWITBF-0165.jpg

Emotions shared can sometimes connect people in deep, forever ways. From this moment I never expected where it would lead us. Tamela and I developed a friendship that will span time and distance. A few months later she asked me to be present at the adoption of Rowdy, her grandson, and to document it with photographs. This was more difficult than I could have imagined because my own emotions threatened to get in the way. I struggled to keep back tears of joy as I hid behind my camera.

Noah-0010.jpg
Noah-0145.jpg

Recently I requested to photo-document a part of their day and Tamela graciously agreed. They are moving away this week and it was my last chance to take photos that would tell their story and that they would treasure forever. It was a sweet day where my children played with her and with Rowdy and we went on an adventure together. I think, together, she and I will always love the photos that day produced.

T&R-0012.jpg
T&R-0027.jpg
T&R-0115.jpg
T&R-0204.jpg
T&R-0217.jpg
T&R-0241.jpg


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page