top of page

Story: The growth of a family

When my husband and I purchased our Nikon it was only meant for documenting our life, our children, our adventures. It was never in my thoughts that I would one day be documenting these same things for other people. Then, one day, a friend asked me to photograph her newborn son. I knew her birth journey and I knew that photos would be precious to her so, with very little confidence in my photography skills, I agreed. That would be my very first photo shoot ever.

BW Logan 327.jpg
RT Logan 793.jpg

Since then I have documented moments throughout this little family's life. Jen is one of the sweetest women I know, an amazing mother, and an incredible friend. Her encouragement toward me has been a huge factor in my own journey into photography.

RT Jan4th 167.jpg

When Jen found out they were expecting another child, she invited me to document the exciting news and informed me that she wanted maternity, birth, and newborn photos done by me. I was so humbled by her faith and confidence in me and my skills, and honored to be asked to be a part of such special moments.

1970979_10204179746115264_1046624945060449092_n.jpg

Watching little L and big brother K grow in such a wonderful family has been extraordinary. And watching K and L's excitement over their baby sister, and their tender love for her now that she has arrived, has been so precious.

JenC-0292.jpg
JenC-0161.jpg

The day of sweet C's birth began with strong winds, she came into this world in a storm. I was blessed to have witnessed my dear friend and her husband as they prepared for her arrival, and then I had the pleasure of waiting with little L and other family members for the word that little C was born. The only birth I've attended is that of my own children. Being present for one in which I was not giving birth was one of the most special moments I've experienced.

aCCbirth-0013.jpg
aCCbirth-0665.jpg
bCCbirth-0158.jpg

This story is continuing, not ending here. On February 28th I captured sweet C with my camera once again for her newborn photos. That day was again full of strong winds, an irony that I could not miss. She made me work for her photos, but the end result was lovely and spending the morning hours with this family was no chore. I hope to remain a part of this family's story both as friend and a photographer for a very long time. Maybe someday I will be photographing each child's senior photos and celebrating their graduating from high school and entering into adulthood. Regardless of what the future holds, my friend Jen has been and always will be very close to my heart.

CCnew-0162.jpg
CCnew-0306.jpg
CCnew-0718.jpg
CCnew-0225.jpg


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page